The history of Tripura is a long drawn story which dates back to the time of the Mahabharata. At the very helm of the Kingdom of Tripura, encompassed the whole of Eastern Bengal stretching from the Bay of Bengal in the South to the Brahmaputra river in the North and West and Burma in the East. The earliest trace of the history of Tripura can be found in the Ashokan pillar inscriptions. The history of Tripura points out that around the 7th Century the Tripuri Kings with the title of 'pha' which means father, ruled from the Kailashahar region in North Tripura.

In the 14th Century the history of Tripura witnessed a change with the sifting of the capital from Kailashahar to Udaipur. It was around the same time that the Tripuri kings adopted the title of Manikya and the Manikya dynasty which had a Indo- Mongolian origin ruled Tripura for around 3000 years. This was probably the most glorious episode of the history of Tripura and the dominance of the Manikyas was also acknowledged by the Mughals who were the central rulers.

The 17th Century is a major watershed in the history of Tripura when the administration of the region passed on the hands of the Mughals with some restrained powers of the Manikyas. With the coming of the colonial era the Britishers extended their control over Tripura but granted some independence to the Manikya kings.

The Royal history of Tripura ended in the year 1947 when monarchy in the state was completely terminated. Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya was the last ruling Manikya king of Tripura and it was after his death that Tripura was acceded to the Union of India. In the year 1949 Tripura became an Union Territory of India and remained so until 1972 when it was made a constituent state of the Indian Nation.

Tripura Tribes represent a range of human communities that are living in the state from quite a long time. The Tripuri Tribe of the state constitutes a large percentage of the total tribal population of Tripura. The Lebang Boomani and Garia are the two prominent folk dance forms of Tripuri tribe.

Reang tribe of Tripura, although has a large population, yet it lacks sufficient educational and economic independence. It is believed that this community is inhabiting the land of Tripura from as early as 15th century.

Chakma tribal group of Tripura belongs to the Buddhist faith. There are various sections in which the Chakma tribe is divided in Tripura. The Mog tribes of Tripura have come to inhabit the land in 957 AD. People of Mog community follow the ritual customs of Buddhism.

Halam tribe is yet another ancient clan of Tripura which has many sub-sections. Being the followers of Saka faith, the Halam community of Tripura has Malsum as one of its groups. Murasing community of Tripura has derived its name from the fact that the ancient people of this tribe used to hang horns of animals in their homes.

There are a total of 19 tribes in Tripura. All these tribal groups of Tripura have their own festivals, rituals and customs. Living on the land of Tripura from a long a time, the various tribes of the state are known for their peaceful existence. Agriculture is the main source of livelihood of all the major tribes of Tripura.

Inhabiting the different parts of the hilly terrains of Tripura, the tribes of the state contribute significantly towards the cultural and economical richness of the place.

Diocese of Agarala (Tripura)

1.  SFS Catholic Church  (Fandakfang)  
2.  SFS School  (Fandakfang)  
3.  SFS School  (East  Harina) FCC Convent  (East  Harina)
© 2013, MSFS Northeast India Province, All Rights Reserved