Manipur history reflects the rich and ancient history the region boasts of. Ruled by more than hundred kings over the years, the ancient history of Manipur goes back to 33 A.D. Not only the region was ruled by different kings in different times, it was called by various names from time to time.

Some of the many names that Manipur was known as are:

· Sanna Leipak
· Tilli Koktong
· Poirei Lam
· Mitei Lipak
· Meitrabak

The first famous king of Manipur was Pakhangba who ruled during 33 A.D. Maharaja Bhagyachandra, who ruled during the 18th Century, rose with same valor and fought against the Burmese to protect his land. He is the person behind the popularity of Vaishnavism in Manipur.

Manipur came under the British rule in 1891 when they defeated the Burmese. Manipur has witnessed many battles during the World War II. The Indian National Army led by the great Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose marched towards Imphal before they were defeated by allied forces.

Once an independent kingdom, Manipur was declared free once more in 1947. However, the then king of Manipur - Budhachandra signed an agreement under which the state became a part of the Indian Dominion. In the year 1972, it became the state we know today.

1. Archdiocese of Imphal (Manipur)

1.  SFS Technical School, (Mantripukri)  
2.  SFS  Church  (Kongpokpi) + Sal. Mis. Of Mary Immaculate  (SMMI)
3.  SFS  School  (Kongpokpi) Nirmala Girl’s Hostel
4.  SFS  Boy’s Hostel  (Kongpokpi) + Clarist Sisters  (FCC)
5.  Holy Rosary Church  (Purul) Girl’s hostel  /  Dispensary
6. Holy Rosary School  (Purul) + Holy Cross Sisters  (SCC)
7.  St. Paul’s School (TingbaKhullen) Holy Cross School  (Tingbakhunou)
© 2013, MSFS Northeast India Province, All Rights Reserved